Formerly named Kaohsiung Polytechnic Institute (KPI), I-Shou University focused mainly on engineering disciplines followed by management disciplines upon its establishment, and aspired to cultivate professionals in engineering and management for southern Taiwan. Due to the renaming to I-Shou University approved by the Ministry of Education in the autumn of 1997, the University saw a significant reorganization of academic units. The fourteen departments were then rearranged into three colleges: the College of Science & Engineering, the College of Electrical & Information Engineering, and College of Management. The College of Science and Engineering currently has five departments: the Department of Mechanical & Automation Engineering, the Department of Civil & Ecological Engineering, the Department of Chemical Engineering, the Department of Materials Science & Engineering, and the Department of Financial and Computational Mathematics, as well as Ph.D. and master’s programs in materials science & engineering, Ph.D. and master’s programs in biotechnology & chemical engineering, master’s programs in mechanical & automation engineering, and master’s programs in civil & ecological engineering. Dr. Shen-Li Fu, the former president of the University, served concurrently as the first dean of the College and was succeeded by Professor Hang-Chin Lai of Dept. of Applied Mathematics in the autumn of 1998. Due to compulsory retirement of Professor Lai, the College then invited Dr. Hao Ku, an expert in biotechnology, to become the third dean in the academic year 2001 to take charge of the establishment of biotechnology-related departments. In the academic year 2002, Dr. Ku was assigned to take charge of the establishment of the College of Medicine, and therefore Dr. Yuan-Chuan Lee, an expert in engineering management, succeeded Dr. Ku as the fourth dean. In the second semester of the academic year 2003, Dr. Ku was again appointed as the college dean to accelerate the progress in affairs related to teaching, research, and counseling & service. Professor Jau-Yann Wu of the Department of Chemical Engineering succeeded Dr. Ku as the sixth dean in the academic year 2007. However, in the academic year 2008, Dr. Wu was temporarily transferred to Shu-Zen College of Medicine and Management, and Professor Yuh-Wern Wu of Dept. of Chemical Engineering was appointed as the seventh dean.